Fred Claus Storyform Analysis

Anyone up for some more reindeer games :wink: and finding the storyform for another Holiday Comedy using the “Genre approach” used to analyze Elf?

Fred Claus is a favorite of mine (we watch it as we decorate our tree every year) but as a newbie I can find “evidence” to support several different Storyforms. However, I’d really like to try Jim Hull’s genre-al approach so here’s my attempt:

1. “Feeling” (Internal/External/State/Process) = Internal (judging others as “good” or “bad”)

2. Overriding trend for Holiday Comedy: OS= Psychology; MC= Universe
    -OS: tons of dysfunction in the Claus Family, Mom chides Fred to be “more like his brother” St. Nicholas who is deemed “good”(unfortunately SO good that it’s a bad thing at least for Fred)
    -MC: Fred needs money for latest business scheme but has to go to North Pole and work for his brother Santa to get it.

3. Start/Stop: light/heavy : surmountable/overhwhelming

This story feels a bit heavier to me. The odds feel overwhelming given how ruthless the antagonist (Clyde) is. He’ll do anything to close down Santa/North Pole. But that leads to a stop story which made me wonder if Fred’s issue is centered on changing the way he thinks about Santa. He needs to stop being angry at his brother?

I can see Mind being Fred’s area of conflict (see below for points on Fred being steadfast) as he sees all kids as good…they just have messed up parents that cause the kids to be angry, confused, etc. Fred shows this while repossessing the little girl’s big screen TV. He describes what her life could be life if she stops watching TV so much in her room and then he tells the parents to stop using the TV as a babysitter because it’s making their daughter mean (she kicked Fred).

1. That line of thinking puts IC (Santa) in Universe which is shown by the untimely evaluation of the North Pole’s efficiency.