Grand Argument Stories

Greetings everyone! And as it is my first time this year - Happy New Year to you all!

So much for my New Year’s resolution to engage with the forum at least on a weekly (if not daily) basis. Its taken me to mid-Feb to do this. Geez I suck at time management!

I have been diving back into Dramatica again and working through the theory to get a better grasp of it all and have a few questions rattling around in my head. I will take them one step at a time though so I don’t get too confused.

Question number 1:

Regarding Grand Argument Stories - from the theory point of view - is a Grand Argument Story when all the four Domains of the story form are covered by one of the four differing POVs? (e.g. OS, MC, IC, RS)

If each POV is assigned to a different Domain then it is a GAS - as all the bases are covered in the argument? Is that right?

I know others will have more thorough answers, but I think you could have all four Domains and all four perspectives in the right place and still break the storyform. For instance, if the MC and IC both change, or both remain steadfast. My understanding is that when that happens, it splits the stories argument essentially arguing that both sides are either right or wrong.

1 Like

Really comes down to storyform, which includes the four throughlines and their respective story points:

A story that illustrates all four throughlines (Overall Story, Relationship Story, Main Character, and Impact Character) and their every story point so that no holes are left in either the passionate or dispassionate arguments of that story.

Thanks for the replies everyone. A follow up ShowerThought…

Would it still be considered a Grand Argument Story if all the Domains are explored illustrating all the Throughlines, but not in the usual structure that the software presents it.

For example. Could a story still be considered a GAS if:

MC=Situation
OS=Activity
IC=Way of Thinking
RS=Fixed Attitude