Issue VS Counter Point examples

In the What is the difference between Issue and Counterpoint? two examples are given to illustrate the difference between self-interest & morality as both issue and counterpoint.

I hate to sound thick, but I was wondering if there are other examples, using other pairs, to help get a better grasp of how they work and, better still, how to isolate them.

PS
Sorry if this has already been addressed, just am not sure where to look.

2 Likes

If you pick any of the Comprehensive examples here on Dramatica, they usually give both the Issue and the Counterpoint for that story. If there are any other stories in particular that you’d like to look at, we could try and pick out the Issue and Counterpoint in them together.

I made this example. I am not a Dramatica expert but I thought it would be fun to make an example. Please, anyone, point out mistakes and/or misinformation. I challenge others to create more examples in this thread. It seems like a good exercise.

A throughline with Confidence as the Issue puts Confidence front and center. Worry is seen as the contrast to Confidence. Both of them are seen in the larger context of Impulsive Responses (the Concern).
EXAMPLE: CONFIDENCE VS. WORRY
A support group of Alcoholics meet every week at a bar to discuss their plans for future success (Concern of Impulsive Responses). The alcoholics are sure they will begin working toward their goals tomorrow (Issue of Confidence). One member of the group is concerned for their futures if they don’t learn to overcome their addictions (Counterpoint of Worry). Both Confidence and Worry are explored in terms of Hunch, Theory, Test and Trust.

A throughline with Worry as the Issue puts Worry front and center. Confidence is seen as the contrast to Worry. Both of them are seen in the larger context of Impulsive Responses (the Concern).
EXAMPLE: WORRY VS. CONFIDENCE