New to Dramatica, learning curve crazy

Hello, I am still very new to the theory and software, even though I was following its development and success for years. Now that I have my own Dramatica (used demo some years ago and loved it), I am running into some problems. Now that I started a novel and created some characters, background story, outline, and scenes, I find that I need to go back and change beers into doers, some situations/actions into decisions, and the software doesn’t allow me to do it. Do you have any suggestions? Thank you!

I wrote a good part of a book and had a Dramatica consultant go over it to see if I had a story form, as a way to learn how it all worked (in addition to reading the theory book tons of times). I found that very helpful. The writing has to happen more than the dram prep and analysis, at least that was my take on it. I remember there was a four sentence paragraph that had four points of a storyform. I didn’t plan it that way, and the brain might need space and flexibility.

I guess the first question to ask is whether or not you understand why the software is not letting you make the changes you want to do.

Thank you! My life is learning mode right now.

I am not sure I do. I started to work with Dramatica (which was already helpful, providing with a lot of progress). I just made some choices, which I didn’t understand at the time. Now, trying to go back, I am wandering if I just should create another draft…

Just to pick a basic example, if you want your Main Character to be in Situation or in Activity then you must also have them be a Do-er in MC Approach. So if you’ve selected one, you cannot change the other.

The whole system works this way, though some of it is less obvious than that example. (There are reasons for this, but I found the reasons to be frustrating rather than helpful when I was just getting started, so I’m going to skip over them here.)