The Story Structure of Tangled: The Animated Series

The Story Structure of Tangled: The Series

As some of you know, I worked as a story consultant on the Disney channel’s animated series Tangled: Before Ever After. The work involved listening to the various ideas for character, plot, and theme and converging them into singular storyforms for both the series and individual seasons. I explained the process in the article Outlining a Television Series with Dramatica

The season finale just aired this morning and the reaction from fans is incredible–most of it a reaction to the first season telling a complete story–a complete storyform:

Wow, a season-ending cliffhanger! i LOVE season-ending cliffhangers, but didn’t expect it from a children’s show! I’m pleasantly surprised and can’t wait to see what Rapunzel and Eugene’s adventures in season 2 will hold! I’m glad that finally Rapunzel is going to be able to…

The rest of this fan’s reaction is here, though I might wait if you haven’t seen the show yet.

The “cliffhanger” he mentions works because:

• the first season told a complete storyform–setting up the Audience’s expectation for more
  • the start of the second season storyform actually begins in these final moments
  • the storyform for the entire series ties both of the first two seasons together–they’re related to each other by virtue of the series’ first two Signposts

I will have more to say about it in the future, but I thought it might be fun to see if those who know and understand Dramatica might be able to identify the storyform for the first season.

That “I can’t wait to see the next installment” is a reaction to complete and as-yet-to-be completed storyforms. You hook them with the promise of meaning.

One fan already identified the actual Main Character Problem driving the entire series! (Instinctively–I’m sure they’ve never seen the Table of Story Elements).

Tentpole Episodes