Writing an Essay using Dramatica/Subtext - Beginning with Author Intent

I am intrigued by the possibility of using my “tendencies” as a writer to more quickly identify the story form for both my stories and my essays. (At this point I’m willing to delay any one-off ideas for a future date.) Most of my ideas seem to involve awareness/self-awareness, ability/desire, logic/feeling and maybe support/oppose.

Because I am still new to the Dramatica/Subtext process, my approach (after reading lots of Subtext articles and DUG posts) was to start by defining my general intent and trusting my subconscious knows what I want to say. (let’s hope!:grin:)

Overall Author Intent: Expand awareness of how we talk to/act towards others as well as how we talk to /act towards ourselves. (the sliding scale between awareness and self-awareness)

STEP ONE: Define My Essay Specific intent: Stop offering support to one at the expense of others, unless support for the “one” comes at the expense of the “one’s” past-self.

• Problem Example 1: We compliment a co-worker but in the process diminish the efforts of others on the team. This could create rifts between team members (direct/indirect knowledge of the praise/compsrison), cause the co-worker to doubt themselves in areas you didn’t compliment them, lower the co-worker’s opinion of you for disparaging other members of the team.

• Problem Example 2: We try to boost our child’s self-worth by telling them they are the best in their class, better than the other kids on the team, or any other the other -ers (faster, prettier, smarter, etc). The child sees her value based on outcomes and only in comparison to others which can cause unhealthy competition, performance-based self-worth, and perceived conditions placed on the parent’s love for the child.