Examples of PSR conflicts -- Please add to this list

I’m studying conflict…again,more…still. I’d really like an ever expanding list of specific scene illustrations of the different conflict possibilities. So I thought I’d offer one, that y’all could help me vet.

For crying out loud, I wish I could master this.

Anyway. I was thinking of how a PSR element gets presented as conflict

And an example from Beauty and the Beast came to mind

There’s this scene where Belle and her father return home and the mob shows up.

Gaston is trying to MANIPULATE Belle into BECOMING his wife, using Maurice’s UNPROVEN claims about the beast to lock him up. But Bell gets the mirror and counters by PROVING that the beast does exist. Which Gaston uses to shift the mob’s target, so they go after the beast, pushing the story foward.

My first question is: does my interpretation hold up?
My 2nd question is …if it does how come what seems like such a clear example of unproven and proven aren’t in the storyform anywhere?

5 Likes

Because you’re taking an isolated incident out of context.

I could find pursuit/avoid, or faith/disbelief, or knowledge/thought in the same scene.

It’s the same thing as finding a single perspective in multiple domains. The totality of the story is where the argument lies and therefore why you won’t find those in the storyform.

Now if you were to write the story of this one scene then yes, by all means that storyform will work. If there was a TV series this scene/storyform you describe could be the basis of an entire episode.

5 Likes

@jassnip Out of curiosity – in which act (signpost) do we think this scene takes place?

3 Likes

Here’s a recent example from my current draft. The OS Act 3 is Doing and the first PSR item is Knowledge.