Throughline Concerns and Issues together in the same scene?

My apologies if I have worded this question poorly. I’m new to Dramatica and unable to open it right now as I’m waiting for the Mac OSX update.

I’m plotting my novel and wondering if there is a rule or good practice concerning putting the same throughline issues and counterpoints (and journeys and signposts) in a single chapter/scene versus spreading them out?

For example, the first few scenes (below) they are mostly intermixed, with the exception of scene 1 which has IC signpost and counterpoint together.

Scene 1.
IC: Signpost 1 – Understanding
IC: Counterpoint – Approach

Scene 2.
MC: Signpost 1 – Developing a Plan

Scene 3.
MC: Journey 1 (Developing a Plan—>Playing a role)

Scene 4.
MC: Issue – Obligation
RS: Signpost 1 – Memory

Scene 5.
RS: Counterpoint – Closure
MC: Counterpoint – Rationalization

From here onwards they are all grouped together…

Scene #6
RS: Journey 1 (Memory—>Innermost Desire)
RS: Issue – Denial

Scene #7

Scene #8
IC: Journey 1 (Understanding—>Doing)
IC: Issue – Attitude

Scene #9
MC: Signpost 2 – Playing a Role
MC: Issue – Obligation

Scene #10
RS: Signpost 2 – Innermost Desires
RS: Issue – Denial

Scene #11

Etc.

I’m grateful for any advice and any correction to what I’ve done. Again, my apologies if I am totally off-track here!

1 Like

While you’re waiting for the update, I’d recommend reading this book
https://www.amazon.com/Dramatica-Screenwriters-Armando-Saldaña-Mora-ebook/dp/B002Y5VTTU.

It’s on Kindle Unlimited for free, if you’re a Prime member, and on Kindle. A great book to have in your library. There are chapters that walk you through turning your STORYFORM into Acts and Scenes. It’s a great practical working-out of Dramatica theory.

2 Likes