Using Subtext to break down Star Wars: A New Hope

Hi all,

I’ve been dipping into Dramatica on and off for a few months now, and have just recently started to dive deeper into it all, also using Subtext, in preparation for writing my own things.

I thought it would be a useful exercise for me to work out how a Subtext treatment translates into a finished product, by attempting to build one up of a movie i know well (Star Wars), and then matching the story beats to the final scenes of the film, which i have attached here. The second sheet is the treatment from Subtext, using the analysis from Star Wars, and choosing gists that i think apply (gists are in square brackets). The first sheet is the mapping of the different story beats onto the list of scenes in the movie.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lhow7h23GUqBLnpafQvswS-NKwcFFI2G/view?usp=sharing

Having done this, it now seems that the actual storybeats are incorporated into a minority of scenes, so i guess what i’m wondering is:

• have I done it right, firstly (the ones with asterixes next to them i’m the least confident about)?
  • are all the scenes that don’t incorporate storybeats just plot, worldbuilding, character development etc.? (I can see that Han goes through a character resolve change, so that’s a clear sub-plot, but Leia, Vader, the droids etc don’t seem to grow at all).
  • if yes, is this just because this is typical of the action/adventure genre, and the other scenes are just generally about the OS throughline (Doing, Physics etc.)?

I have further questions but i’d be interested to see if i’m on the right track so far.

5 Likes

I think this is a fascinating exercise.

One thing to consider is all the other Dramatica appreciations (I believe they are called)