A Bit Confused About Stucture

Hi All,

I’ve had Dramatica for quite some time but have only just got around to completing my first story form, so I’m a bit of a newbie. I thought that the program would take my answers to its questions and find a storyform and then present a framework into which I could illustrate my story.

I’ve got to the final storyweaving stage and all it’s given me is an option to create a sequential series of scenes but I thought it would suggest a framework for the scenes based on the final storyform. I’m confused as to what Dramatica is actually providing me. I get the throughlines thematic concept and that is quite useful but I’m not sure how or if this program helps to organise the events through each of the throughlines.

Could somebody please let me know what I’m missing?

Thanks!

The program doesn’t want to limit how you work, so it’s very loose. There are many ways to proceed.

As a place to start, are you familiar with what Drivers and Signposts are?

4 Likes

It provides a framework for solving a single problem from every perspective. It prescribes an act order, but refrains from giving order below that so it doesn’t stifle author creativity.

What it does give you is character, theme, plot, and genre. The framework, then, is to explore each of those as fully as you’d like within context. If you’re dealing with an act of Doing and your theme is Self-interest vs Morality with a problem of Control, then you say everything you have to say about self-interest vs morality and control within a context of Doing. When you’re done, you move on to the next act. You can do that in one scene, or two, or whatever you need.

There’s also the plot sequence report that gives you a view from inside the story that can be useful for developing scenes.

3 Likes