Identifying the Throughlines

Hi everyone,

A total Dramatica newbie here. I am going mad trying to identify the throughlines that would help me land on a Storyform so I hope you can help!

My story idea is still very rough and my characters are mostly unformed…

What I have so far…

Genre: Romance/Sci-fi

Summary: There is a new groundbreaking portable technology, which allows you to read other people’s thoughts without them knowing. A female college student is invited to be one of the first people to trial the technology. She’s in a bad way when she receives the invitation (ie. she has trust issues/fear of rejection relating to a sordid family past and a string of bad relationships, and her studies/career are not going well.)

She doesn’t trust men and by extension doesn’t trust her own feelings/intuition about them. Out of desperation and in an effort to find a loving relationship, which she hopes will bring her happiness and stability, she gambles on trusting technology (believing it to be free from emotions and opinions). At first, using the technology works (for small things like buying people the right birthday present, knowing which restaurant to book for dinner etc) but as she tries to use it to decipher whether or not another character loves her it all begins going pear-shaped. Possibly the technology is later hacked making the situation even worse.

The IC perspective is that good relationships are based on mutual trust and will be presented through the role of either a close male friend or housemate who harbours romantic feelings for her. Ultimately he convinces her that she can trust him and she takes a leap of faith by becoming romantically involved with him and is thus changed for the better.

From that I get:
MC Resolve: Changed (Learns to trust/let go of fear of rejection)
MC Growth: Learning to trust would be Start, but letting go of fear of rejection/trust issues would be Stop…Unsure…
MC Approach: Unsure