Throughline Separation

I’m pretty new to Dramatica, to the point where I think I’ve gotten to the “I almost feel like I know what I’m doing, so I probably actually know nothing” stage. I’ve spent a decent amount of time scouring topics here which has helped immensely. I’m sure my question has been answered somewhere, but it’s so easy to get lost in a long thread that I needed to ask. That’s my long-winded way of preapologizing for what I’m sure is a repeated question.

Anyway… I think I have a good feel for the OS, MC, and IC throughlines, but I’m having a problem with the RS. I’ve picked up that new thinking says that RS is not MCvIC like the program says. So, the RS doesn’t actually need the IC in it. But can the IC influence the RS via the MC? (As a side question, does this still work if we flip the MC and IC? Can the RS be a relationship to the IC and not MC? I ask because I’m still not 100% sure which of my characters I want as the MC.)

Here’s what I’m thinking:
Something needs to be found (OS:Physics/Obtaining). The IC is the OS Protagonist. Initially the IC doesn’t even know there is anything that needs to be found, but meets the MC because of an unusual situation she’s going through (IC:Universe/Future). The IC influences the MC into overcoming her negative attitude (MC:Mind/Subconscious) that is causing the MC’s relationship with her significant other (not the IC) to stagnate (RS:Psychology/Becoming). That change also causes the MC to help the IC find the information needed to solve the OS problem, which ends up being a function of the IC’s situation.

Yes, I left a lot out but that’s the high-level concept. Does that work? Or are my throughlines too closely related? Or, if I’m completely off-base, please let me know. It seems like understanding this stuff takes a lot of “one step forward, two steps back.”

1 Like