Steadfast or Change

Hello all!

First time poster long time lurker. I’ve been studying Dramatica for just over 6 months now, so a complete newbie. Fallen in love with the theory and even at this early stage it has completely changed my writing and approach to story.

I have a question about Change and Steadfast. I feel to a certain extent I have a good handle on these terms. Reading Jim’s article about Woody from Toy Story really cemented it for me. But, with most things, once you apply it to your own characters things get a little hazy.

I’m having trouble deciding if my main character is change of steadfast and would love some insight.

A background on the character -

James is someone who isn’t noticed by the world. Blends into the background. He doesn’t have confidence in himself and can’t see why anyone would be interested in what he has to say or do. He hides from the world.

He loses his eye in a tragic pencil accident (it’s a comedy) and starts getting loads of attention because of it. He is panicked at first until he realises that the attention is positive, they think the eye patch is bad ass. To deal with the new found attention he puts on this pirate persona that everyone responds to. Becomes the head waiter at a cafe and is a instant hit. This flagging cafe is now the most popular cafe in town.

The pirate persona has given him confidence to function in the world. However, he is driven by the fear that one day all these attention will go away, or the mask will slip and the town will get to know the real James and reject him. To combat this he becomes more and more pirate, pushing the limits to keep the attention of the town. To the point where he does some outrageous things which brings a bad reputation to the cafe. He loses his job. He is now just in the real world where he doesn’t get so much attention. He is legend in the fantasy world of the cafe, but in the real world, the town just see him as a weirdo who thinks he is pirate.