Story Engine Difference Between Dramatica 5.3.1 and Subtxt

Hi,

I’ve been using Dramatica for quite a few years now, and decided to give Subtxt a spin on an old story idea of mine. However, I’ve found that, for my particular choices, the two story engines don’t generate the same story form, no matter how I try to enter the settings.

Here are the details:

Character Dynamics: Steadfast, Stop, Be-Er, Holistic
Plot Dynamics: Action, Optionlock, Success, Good
Static Story Points: Goal=Memories, Consequence=The Past, Cost=Understanding, Dividend=Developing a Plan

In Dramatica, the IC signposts are: 1-Gathering Information, 2-Understanding, 3-Doing, 4-Obtaining
In Subtxt, they come out as: 1-Understanding, 2-Doing, 3-Obtaining, 4-Learning (Gathering Information)

In Dramatica, the RS signposts are: 1-The Present, 2-The Past, 3-How Things are Changing, 4-The Future
In Subtxt, they come out as: 1-The Past, 2-Progress (How Things Are Changing), 3-The Future, 4-The Present

So, in both cases, Subtxt shifts the 1st Dramatica-generated signpost so that it is the 4th.

However, ALL other values in the Storyform are exactly the same.

As a result of this, I can’t start developing my story further. I think that Subtxt is correct, but that is just a hunch.

Can someone else with access to both platforms see if they can reproduce this issue? It is driving me nuts. They can’t both be right.

Thanks,

Julie

Hi Julie,

Jim can give you more details on why, but long story short he’s made some changes to Subtxt that yield different signpost orders, and the beats (Variations) underneath are even more different. My experience on my own story (so far) is that the Subtxt version feels more accurate.

I think the static story points are exactly the same.

2 Likes